Tuesday, May 17, 2022

Ubisoft removes player account in accordance with GDPR

Messages
Video games
December 19, 2021, 9:28 p.m.


Author: Paul Musiolik

After a year of inactivity on the player’s account, Ubisoft removed it and denied the user access to hundreds of dollars worth of games. All of this was done in accordance with the regulations and laws of the European Union.


IN A NUTSHELL:

  1. Ubisoft removed a player’s account after a year of inactivity;
  2. The user has lost access to their games with no refund option;
  3. Everything is in accordance with the regulations that apply to the service.

PC world reports on an interesting case of a Norwegian gamer who decided to sell his gaming PC in 2020 and concentrate on his personal life. When, after a year, he decided it was time to get back to his hobby, he got an unpleasant surprise when he tried to log into his Ubisoft account.

As it turned out, for some reason he was unable to access the service. An attempt to reset the password was successful, but the account was still inaccessible. Tor, when this player introduced himself, eventually contacted the support department of the French publisher and found out that his account was deleted due to inactivity and he lost access to all previously purchased games.

?? If the account is closed, it cannot be restored ?? claimed a Ubisoft representative

Ubisoft removes player account under GDPR - Image # 1

A copy of the email sent by Ubisoft. Source: PCWorld

Tor saw the message from Ubisoft in his email inbox under the Spam tab warning that if I didn’t log in within 30 days, his account would be deleted. If you think that’s a bit much, well … all in line with the terms of usewhere we can read:

“We may automatically suspend or close your account and your ability to use one or more Services or any part of the Services at any time and at our sole discretion if: […] after notification if your account has been inactive for more than six months. “

In further excerpts it is pointed out that after deleting the account, the money spent on it will not be refunded and we will lose access to the purchased digital goods. How come? Due to the GDPR, which applies within the European Union. This was confirmed by a representative from Ubisoft who replied to an email from the editor at PCWorld:

“We have the account deletion process in accordance with the requirements of the GDPR (Article 5.1e). Our guidelines are based on the legal requirements and the standards of the industry. This measure also serves as a protection for our players against fraud. “

The steps that are being taken to verify that an account can be deleted have also been revealed. The list includes:

  1. Activity on the account since its creation;
  2. PC Game Ownership – Accounts with purchased games cannot be deleted;
  3. Account inactivity period (last login to Ubisoft “ecosystem”). Typically, accounts with no activity in the past four years are deleted;
  4. Ubisoft subscription activity.

The spice of the whole thing is added by the fact that in this case The automated system proved overzealous, which the company spokesman admitted. He pointed out that the described case is not fully covered by the rules. The user support department will contact Tor and request any information to clarify and somehow resolve the case.

PCWorld approached gambling regulation attorney Ryan Morrison for comment. Morrison pointed out that while he does not support such overzealous actions, From a legal point of view everything is fine. The company can revoke our access to purchased digital goods at any time or even delete the account. It also reminds us that by purchasing digitally, we are only acquiring one license to use the game, in contrast to the boxed edition.

How do other companies behave in similar cases? Valve announced that it will never delete inactive accounts. Microsoft only does this with Minecraft Realms if a user has not been active for 18 months. Riot Games, on the other hand, will delete inactive accounts, but will ensure that the player receives an email notification and has time to reply. Blizzard, on the other hand, actively fights against users who create numerous accounts in order to occupy nicknames. If such a profile is not used, it will be deleted.

So, if you haven’t signed into your Ubisoft Connect account for more than six months, you’d better do so – and remember to repeat this activity regularly. Don’t want to risk losing access to the games you’ve bought, do you?

  1. Ubisoft official website

Source link

Stay in the Loop

Get the daily email from 1337.win that makes reading the news actually enjoyable. Join our mailing list to stay in the loop to stay informed, for free.

Latest stories

- Advertisement - spot_img

You might also like...